Virtual Volunteering

Published November 23, 2009 by heatherksmith

There are some things I’m just not good at. My cooking skills revolve around a microwave, I avoid anything with ‘some assembly required,’ my best artistic work is probably a stick figure and if it werent for the yard guy, I’d spend my mornings battling through a jungle of vines and branches.

If you’re like me, you probably get a little bit timid about participating in projects you’re not so great at. I can tell you from my experience gutting houses with HandsOn New Orleans, even if you think you lack the ‘skills’ necessary for a task, you can still make a difference.  

Still a little apprehensive? Well, think about the things that you can do well, the things you love to do. There’s probably a way you can serve the greater good doing it.  I found the perfect project for me through HandsOn Greater Phoenix

I’m good with Microsoft Office, love writing/editing and use to competitively create resumes during my highschool years with FCCLA. So I got involved as a ‘virtual volunteer’ with Help My Resume.  Roughly once a week, I’m e-mailed a resume, I read it, edit it and e-mail it back. I spend one hour per week, maybe at the office, maybe at a coffee shop, sometimes even in my pajamas on the couch, “Fighting Unemployment One Resume at a Time.”

If you’re a Public Relations/Marketing kid like me, think about doing pro bono work for local nonprofits/charities. Maybe they could use website maintenance, a couple of fliers designed or some news releases. Think about, you’re good at those things and love doing them.  Even if your day has you going in a million different directions, remember, you can probably do these things from home, on your own time with your own computer and your own e-mail. 

Well, I’m going to go back drinking my coffee and editing another resume. Bye for now 🙂

One comment on “Virtual Volunteering

  • Leave a Reply

