They Could’ve Just Asked…

Published November 27, 2009 by heatherksmith

I’ve had that moment when my cell phone died at the worst time possible.

But I’ve never smashed someone elses car window to get a charger.

They could have just knocked on the front door and asked me, I would have let them borrow it. I may have even given them a brownie too.

Unfortunately, that isn’t how things went. If you notice the picture, you can see the indents the crowbar or screwdriver they used left. Total bummer.

The worst part about this whole scenario is the fact my roommate and I were sitting in the house when it happened. We heard nothing. We weren’t even aware of anything until my other roommate and her family got to the house about an hour after it must have happened and saw the mess firsthand.

The next day right before I started sweeping up the glass, two women from down the road stopped by and told me this was the third incident to happen in our neighborhood this week.

You might be thinking, what kind of neighborhood do you live in, Heather?

Well, a good one.

The cop who ran the report even mentioned he doesn’t usually have to worry about patrolling our neighborhood. This can happen anywhere!

Lucky for me, I never leave anything valuable in my car, so the most the thieves got their hands on was my cell phone and GPS chargers. Also, nothing happened to my roommate and me in the house. Could have all been much worse.

Maybe I should consider this a blessing in disguise. I realized after being here for three months, I still haven’t met my neighbors. I plan on taking some time in the upcoming days to knock on their doors and extend an offer to try to keep on eye on their homes if they ever have to leave for a weekend. It may not necessarily prevent a similar incident from ever happening again, but it will probably decrease the chances of it.

I also look at it this way: I’m lucky to have a car. I’m lucky to have fancy gadgets like a cell phone and a GPS. I’m lucky not to be so desperate to have to steal chargers just to make a few bucks.

All in all, this Thanksgiving, I’m thankful for my life and my new window. Happy Turkey Day!!!

Leave a Reply

