7 Reasons You’re the Best Mom

Published May 10, 2010 by heatherksmith

Today is for all the moms in the world. Where would we be without you? All of the kissed ouchies, the proud hugs, the shoulder to cry on, and the advice have been everything we ever needed and more. Moms, you are amazing.

I, of course, have an unfair bias to one mother in particular. My mother, Janelle, is the world’s greatest in my eyes. So Mom, I’d like to let you know what makes you the best.

  1. Ravishing through the jungle of curls that were my hair as a toddler. Yes, I had those gorgeous little ringlets that were totally cheek-pinch worthy. Can you imagine trying to comb through those on a 2 year-old? Thanks for not shaving my head, Mom.
  2. Spider Seek and Destroy: Thank you for all the nights of saving me from the spiders the size of a penny or smaller. What would I have done without you!
  3. Doctor Office Therapist: Mom, I can’t thank you enough for all the times you held my hand (or even held down my entire body) every time I had to get a shot. Not that that has changed much.
  4. My Biggest Fan: You cheered me on at everything you could-The concerts, the pageants, the FCCLA events, the plays, the basketball and football games, the cross-country meets. I swear you must have had a clone to be in so many places! How did you do it?!
  5. My Handkerchief: You did more than your fair share of wiping my tears throughout high school over broken hearts and gossip. Thanks for all of those late night chats, pep talks, and hugs.
  6. Doing the Work of Two: You got us through some rough times, Mom. Now that I’m older, I look back and realize how truly amazing you were. So many people would have just crumbled and given up. But not you. God blessed Justin and me by giving us you as a mother.
  7. The Best Friend: I couldn’t ask for more, a mother and BFF in one. No one knows me better than you. I have more fun with you than anyone else in the world. Not so many people can be so lucky.

I love you, Mom! Happy Mother’s Day! I hope I can be a mom just like you someday!

Leave a Reply

