I’d Like to Leave a Message for Karma, Please

Published July 12, 2010 by heatherksmith

It’s been far too long since I’ve posted. But believe me, I have good reason to have neglected so long. Here are my latest adventures from living below the poverty line.

Health Coverage Shenanigans: Being below the poverty line qualifies me for state health care. When I first moved here, I still had my regular insurance, which ended coverage in December. In November, I went to the doctor and presented both my insurance and state health care. My regular insurance covered part of my cost. Turns out the doctor office never turned the rest into my state health care. For over 8 months, I’ve been on the phone with the doctor’s office and the state health care office to cover the  remaining $130. Perpetual phone tag. Sigh.

Kitchen Knives and T-Shirts: I found quite the surprise in the front yard. No, it wasn’t that pony I’ve been asking my mother for since elementary school. It was an 8-inch, non-serrated kitchen knife wrapped in a men’s T-shirt. The police tried to convince me someone just used the deadly piece of steel to drywall. If only I were naive. I would have been able to sleep for the next 2 weeks.

What’s Worse Than Living in a House with Mystery Knives? Being Kicked Out of It!: I recently learned the importance of leases. The last 3 years, the tenants in the house had lived under a ‘gentleman’s agreement.’ No lease, no deposit. Wow! What a great deal, right? Well, two of the four of us moved, and the landlord started to lose money. Gentleman’s agreement off. The remaining roomie and I almost got put up in the Budget Suites, known for meth labs and the occasional prostitute.  Luckily, things worked out and we ended up getting to stay in the house.

The Perpetually Immobile Monte Carlo: Eight months later and the transmission angels still haven’t decided to bless my car. You know, the same car that suffered a smashed driver-side window. I don’t usually mind the daily pedal, but the infamous Phoenix heat has arrived. Over 100 degrees with no breeze (Unless it feels like a blow dryer).  It’s like a steam room, but not near as relaxing.

Life has been chaotic. But what my VISTA service has taught me is that it could be worse. Doctor bills give me slight migraines, but at least I was able to get check out. Even though the lawn seems to grow blades of steel instead of grass and ‘gentleman’s agreements’ aren’t so gentle in the end, I still have a roof to sleep under.  If all else failed, I could have camped out in my broken-down car. That’s more than some people will ever have.

I think karma is kicking in. After all, I haven’t found any weapons in the yard lately! I’ll let you know how things turn out.

Leave a Reply

